Minimum Wage Newsletter

With inflation on the rise and ordinary people finding it more challenging every day to stretch their dollar as far as it can go, every dollar in your pocket counts.  That’s why it’s important especially now to ensure that the minimum wage earned by working people goes far enough to cover all of everyday life’s basic expenses.

Yet that is precisely what California state officials failed to do—at least, according to a lawsuit recently filed by supporters of a proposed ballot measure that would have put the decision before California voters in this November’s elections whether to raise the state’s minimum wage rate to $18 an hour.  Due to a series of technical missteps, including what its proponents claim was California Secretary of State Dr. Shirley Weber’s use of an incorrect deadline for certification of the proposed ballot initiative, the measure will not appear on your ballot this fall.

It’s unclear at this time how the lawsuit against the Secretary of State will proceed or whether advocates of an $18 minimum wage will be able to take another shot at passing the measure later down the line, potentially during the next statewide elections in late 2024.  What is clear is that working people and their supporters will have to look to other ways to protect the value of the wages they earn in the meantime.

To that end, here is a list of some questions you might have about California’s minimum wage, where it stands now, where it’s going, and how you can best protect yourself from corner-cutting employers trying to avoid paying what’s owed.

On its face, the minimum wage is not a complicated idea: it is the bare-minimum level of pay that an employer must provide to you for your time spent on the job.  The right to be paid minimum wage cannot be waived—meaning your employer cannot trap you into agreeing to work for free—and it applies to all your time spent working on tasks for your employer defined as “compensable” under California law.  Even a very short amount of time spent working must be paid at least at the minimum wage rate.  That means (for example) that your employer must pay you for time you spend waiting in line with other employees on your shift to clock in.

You may also be entitled to payment of the minimum wage for various other “non-work” activities, such as when your employer requires you to show up to work but does not actually put you to work or when you are required to be “on-call” and ready to start work on short notice.

Most employees in the State of California who are paid on an hourly basis are entitled to receive at least the statewide minimum wage for every hour of work.  This includes any individual regardless of age, disability, immigration status, or membership in a union.

On the other hand, employees who are salaried (i.e., not paid on an hourly basis) and independent contractors are not entitled to the statewide minimum wage.  With some exceptions, salespeople who work on a commission basis are also not entitled to an hourly minimum wage.  California law defines each of these exceptions to the general rule requiring payment of the minimum wage, and an employer is not permitted to define you, for example, as an “independent contractor” simply to avoid paying you a minimum wage.

The current statewide minimum wage in California is $15 an hour for employees of larger businesses (25 or more employees), and $14 an hour for employees of smaller businesses (25 or fewer employees).  In May, Governor Newsom announced that the statewide minimum will increase to $15.50 an hour for all employees, regardless of the employer’s size, beginning on January 1, 2023.

Due to a 2016 change to the California Labor Code, the statewide minimum wage rate is set to increase annually when inflation is at seven percent or more over the previous fiscal year.  Because of this, working Californians may see another increase in the minimum wage if inflation continues at its present clip.

In addition the statewide rules, many individual cities in California have their own, higher minimum wage rates.  Employers operating within the city or county limits of these locales are required to pay employees at the higher, local rate.  For example, Los Angeles County currently requires employers to pay a $15.96 minimum wage.

California law requires all employers to issue physical wage statements to employees providing information about wages earned by the employee.  The purpose of these wage statements is to provide you with basic information about your wages and other compensation in order to help you determine whether you have been paid properly.  Make sure that you hold on to any such wage statements given to you by your employer, as these can be important evidence if you believe your employer is not paying you everything you are owed.

Many of the issues outlined above relating to minimum wage in California may appear deceptively simple on the surface, but ultimately require a deep knowledge of and familiarity with the law in order to hold an employer accountable.  Even in the best of times, working people depend on legal protections like the minimum wage in order to stay afloat.  In these uncertain economic times, that need is all the greater.

If you have any questions about anything discussed in this newsletter or believe that you may have a claim against your employer, feel free to contact us at (310) 438-5555 for further information.

Minimum Wage Newsletter

Con la inflación en aumento y la gente común encontrando, cada día es más difícil estirar su dólar hasta donde puede, cada dólar en su bolsillo cuenta.  Es por eso que es importante especialmente ahora asegurarse de que el salario mínimo ganado por los trabajadores vaya lo suficientemente lejos como para cubrir todos los gastos básicos de la vida cotidiana.

Sin embargo, esos precisamente lo que los funcionarios del estado de California no hicieron, al menos, según una demanda presentada recientemente por partidarios de una medida electoral propuesta que habría puesto la decisión ante los votantes de California en las elecciones de noviembre de sí aumentar la tasa de salario mínimo del estado a $ 18 por hora.  Debido a una serie de errores técnicos, incluido lo que sus defensores afirman que fue el uso por parte de la secretaria de Estado de California, la Dra. Shirley Weber, de una fecha límite incorrecta para la certificación de la iniciativa de votación propuesta, la medida no aparecerá en su boleta este otoño.

No está claro en este momento cómo procederá la demanda legal contra el secretario de Estado o si los defensores de un salario mínimo de $ 18 podrán tener otra oportunidad de aprobar la medida más adelante, potencialmente durante las próximas elecciones estatales a fines de 2024.  Lo que está claro es que los trabajadores y sus partidarios tendrán que buscar otras formas de proteger el valor de los salarios que ganan mientras tanto.

Con ese fin, aquí hay una lista de algunas preguntas que podría tener sobre el salario mínimo de California, dónde se encuentra ahora, hacia dónde va y cómo puede protegerse mejor de los empleadores que cortan esquinas que intentan evitar pagar lo que se debe.

A primera vista, el salario mínimo no es una idea complicada: es el nivel mínimo de pago que un empleador debe proporcionarle por el tiempo que pasa en el trabajo.  No se puede renunciar al derecho a recibir el salario mínimo, lo que significa que su empleador no puede atraparlo para que acepte trabajar gratis, y se aplica a todo el tiempo que pasa trabajando en tareas para su empleador definidas como “compensables” según la ley de California.  Incluso una cantidad muy corta de tiempo dedicado a trabajar debe pagarse al menos a la tasa de salario mínimo.  Eso significa (por ejemplo) que su empleador debe pagarle por el tiempo que pasó esperando en la fila con otros empleados en su turno para registrarse (fichar).

También puede tener derecho al pago del salario mínimo por varias otras actividades “no laborales”, como cuando su empleador le exige que se presente a trabajar, pero en realidad no lo pone a trabajar o cuando se le exige que esté “de guardia” y listo para comenzar a trabajar con poca antelación.

La mayoría de los empleados en el Estado de California a quienes se les paga por hora tienen derecho a recibir al menos el salario mínimo estatal por cada hora de trabajo.   Esto incluye cualquier individuo independientemente de su edad, discapacidad, estado migratorio o membresía en un sindicato.

Por otro lado, los empleados que son asalariados (es decir, no se les paga por hora) y los contratistas independientes no tienen derecho al salario mínimo estatal.  Con algunas excepciones, los vendedores que trabajan por comisión tampoco tienen derecho a un salario mínimo por hora.  La ley de California define cada una de estas excepciones a la regla general que requiere el pago del salario mínimo, y un empleador no puede definirlo, por ejemplo, como un “contratista independiente” simplemente para evitar pagarle un salario mínimo.

El salario mínimo estatal actual en California es de $ 15 por hora para los empleados de empresas más grandes (25 o más empleados), y $ 14 por hora para los empleados de empresas más pequeñas (25 o menos empleados).  En mayo, el gobernador Newsom anunció que el mínimo estatal aumentará a $ 15.50 por hora para todos los empleados, independientemente del tamaño del empleador, a partir del 1 de enero de 2023.

Debido a un cambio en el Código Laboral de California en  2016, la tasa de salario mínimo en todo el estado aumentará anualmente cuando la inflación sea del siete por ciento o más con respecto al año fiscal anterior.  Debido a esto, los californianos que trabajan pueden ver otro aumento en el salario mínimo si la inflación continúa en su ritmo actual.

Además de las reglas estatales, varias ciudades en California tienen sus propias tasas de salario mínimo más altas.  Los empleadores que operan dentro de los límites de la ciudad o el condado de estos lugares están obligados a pagar a los empleados a la tarifa local más alta.  Por ejemplo, el condado de Los Ángeles actualmente requiere que los empleadores paguen un salario mínimo de $15.96.

La ley de California requiere que todos los empleadores emitan declaraciones de salarios físicos a los empleados que proporcionen información sobre los salarios ganados por el empleado.  El propósito de estas declaraciones de salarios es proporcionarle información básica sobre sus salarios y otras compensaciones para ayudarlo a determinar si se le ha pagado correctamente.  Asegúrese de aferrarse a cualquier declaración salarial que le dé su empleador, ya que pueden ser evidencia importante si cree que su empleador no le está pagando todo lo que se le debe.

Muchos de los problemas descritos anteriormente relacionados con el salario mínimo en   California pueden parecer engañosamente simples en la superficie, pero en última instancia requieren un profundo conocimiento y familiaridad con la ley para responsabilizar a un empleador.  Incluso en los mejores momentos, los trabajadores dependen de protecciones legales como el salario mínimo para mantenerse a flote.  En estos tiempos económicos inciertos, esa necesidad es aún mayor.

Si tiene alguna pregunta sobre cualquier cosa discutida en este boletín o piensa que puede tener un reclamo contra su empleador, no dude en contactarnos al (310) 438-5555 para obtener más información.

Skip to content